Noel O'Neill Trophy

Orwell created the Noel O'Neill Trophy race to reckonise and commemorate the achievements of Noel O'Neill.

Noel joined Orwell in 1955, spending some time with Bray Wheelers. He coached such greats as Stephen Roche.

Noel was the Irish National Road Race Champion in 1965. He tells it himself: "I won it on the last lap, the break had a good lead, there were a lot of good riders still in the bunch but I decided it was time to go and made up a minute to the break and went on to win the sprint." He represented Ireland at that year's World Championships in San Sebastian that year.

Noel's palmares also includes The Dublin to Birr 3 Day, Shay Elliot, Sean Dillion Memorial, Tour of the Gaps, Tour of the Slade and The BAR in 1964 and 1965 (Best All-Rounder: for Combined times and placings in TTs and RRs).

In recent times, Noel has been riding Leisure Events, such as the Three Peaks Challenge in 2017.

For a 2012 interview with Noel, please see "Five Decades with Noel O'Neill".


2017 is the inaugural running of this race. It will be run on the Khyber Circuit in Dublin's Phoenix Park.


Past Winners

2017   Philip Lavery     Unattached Leinster

The Noel O'Neill Trophy was run as a one day event in The Phoenix Park in 2017. For 2018 the event developed into a 2 day, 3 stage event which attracted some of the best racers in the country. Exciting racing in a new format, ended in a great victory for Scott Orwell Wheelers when Noel O'Neill presented the trophy to our own Paul Forristal. This is how it all unfolded..

The Orwell 2 Day Stage Race - all the details! A1, A2, A3 Juniors & Women .

Full and Final Results now added

Read on for full information...

Congratulations to Philip Lavery (u/a) on winning the inaugural Noel O'Neill Trophy, and to JP Sweetman on taking the A4 race for St Tiernan's CC.

Full results below.

Noel O'Neill was the 1965 Irish National Road Race Champion, and a long time member of the club. Scott-Orwell Wheelers wanted to honor Noel's achievements by creating this race in his honor.