Appleby Orwell Women's League Round 1 - Time Trial

3 years 1 month ago - 3 years 1 month ago #29479 by Louise Keane
If you have pre-registered for the Appleby Orwell Women's League then you will have received an email tonight with the event information. For those who haven't registered yet the information is below:

The cost of entering the league is €5 per night or €25 if you are planning on doing all 6 rounds. Please bring cash and ideally the exact amount to Sign on. If you do not have a CI Limited Competition or Competition License you will need to pay €5 extra per round to cover the insurance costs. Gen and Lorna will be looking after Sign on this week.

Please bring your CI number to Sign On.

The first round of the league will kick off with a Time Trial which takes place this coming Tuesday, April 9th in Batterstown. Sign on will be from 6.20pm and first rider off at 7pm.

Since we raced last year new traffic lights have been installed in Batterstown village therefore we have had to look for alternative TT courses. Having looked at a lot of options we have settled on a new course which will start just after the village of Batterstown. This is a slightly shorter route at approx 14km.

Map of Sign on and Start Location: Google Maps Start/Sign On

The new route: TT ROUTE

The Route starts outside "Eagle Motors" about 500m after Batterstown village. Riders follow the R154 to the roundabout @ 4.6km. Take the 3rd exit from this roundabout - signposted "Dunshaughlin/Dublin/Cavan" and continue to the next roundabout @ 7.01km. At this roundabout take continue all the way around the roundabout and return to the start along the route already ridden.

There are no scheduled time slots for the TT therefore, we encourage you to come as early as possible, register and get a start time. This will enable us to facilitate those who may be a little delayed leaving work or in traffic. Ideally, we want to facilitate and accommodate all riders whilst considering limited daylight and ensuring everyone’s safety which of course is paramount. Time slots are available between 7pm and 7.45 only. PLEASE do not miss your time slot as this causes problems for the time keepers.

Do not park at the start line - please park in the village and ride to the start. There are a lot of parking dedicated parking spaces in Batterstown village. Please be considerate of the residents when parking and warming up. We need to be mindful and respectful of local residences and ask that you do not park outside homes closer to the start line. We have had some cars block entrances or park on lawns outside houses at events here in the past and as it is a well used course we do not want to annoy the residents.

Please do not warm up on the course. Please use the road between Batterstown and the M3 for your warm up.

Last year we recommended the use of lights but this year we are making them compulsory. All racers MUST have a back light and ideally a front light. You will not be allowed to start if you do not have a rear light.

Using TT Bikes and/or TT Bars is allowed for the TT rounds.

When you cross the finish line roll on through, pull over further down the road and don't turn around before checking that it is safe to do so. Anyone doing a U-turn in the vicinity of the finish line will be disqualified. Please don't hassle the timekeepers for your time- there's no problem asking, but make sure to do it at a time when there aren't any riders coming in.


Again this year we are allowing youth riders to compete in the league but there are special conditions for the TT Stage. As with previous years Under 14 riders will only be allowed to start a TT round if they have lights and are followed by an adult/guardian riding a bike. There will be no exceptions to this.

Youth Riders must be assessed by their club to be competent to ride on public roads and finish the course within a reasonable time. This applies in particular to Round 1 as it is still getting dark early.

See you all on Tuesday night!

If you have any questions please post here or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Last edit: 3 years 1 month ago by Louise Keane.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 1 month ago #29492 by Louise Keane
Replied by Louise Keane on topic Appleby Orwell Women's League Round 1 - Time Trial
What an unbelievable turn out for the first round of the Appleby Orwell Women’s League - 51 racers!! A record by a long way.

Thanks to everyone who raced and also to Gen, Lorna, Dave Mc, all our marshals, helpers & photographers - we couldn’t have done it without you!!

Very provisional top placings for now:
1, Jen Bates, 20:44;
2, Jenny Neenan, 21:04;
3, Sofie Loscher, 21:12;
=4, Eva Brennan, 21:26;
=4, Aideen Keenan, 21:26;
6, Autumn Collins, 21:35;
7, Claire Ní Reachtagain, 21:40;
8, Arron Fox, 21:41.

Confirmed and full results will be available later on.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 1 month ago - 3 years 1 month ago #29493 by Dave Mc
Full results here now:
1stJennifer BatesBioracer DHL20:44
2ndJenny NeenanSundrive21:04
3rdSofie LoscherSundrive21:12
4thEva BrennanDeenside21:26
4thAideen KeenanDublin Wheelers21:26
6thAutumn CollinsTeam Toreli21:35
7thClaire Ní ReachtagainSundrive21:40
8thArron FoxScott Orwell21:41
9thCatherine MahoneyUCD22:29
10thMonica FreibandScott Orwell22:55
11thDebbie Lee GaffneyTeam Cavan Racing22:59
12thAgnieska SamselDublin Wheelers23:03
13thAileen CurranStamullen23:15
14thAishling BarryDunboyne23:16
15thJudy Van den AnckerScott Orwell23:20
16thRóisín KennedyArcane23:28
17thBeata GolczakU/A23:38
18thHelen KellySt. Tiernans23:40
19thLyndsey BryceDublin Wheelers23:46
20thSinead MolloyTullamore23:49
21stJoanne WhiteDrogheda23:51
22ndMarie ReillyBohermeen23:59
23rdLaura ShannonSt. Tiernans24:03
24thJulieann ByrneLucan24:15
25thSusan FaganClontarf24:25
26thAisling O'ConnorScott Orwell24:27
27thAnne Marie LoughreyScott Orwell24:49
28thHannah TilleyArcane24:58
29thKeela MacHaleArcane25:05
30thSarah WhiteArcane25:07
30thEmma SmithNavan25:07
32ndKasha GniadoLucan25:10
33rdAisling Ní NeilScott Orwell25:11
34thGrainne ReidsSt. Tiernans25:23
35thMarijke BeltmanBelpark25:31
36thDanielle TraversDublin Wheelers26:06
37thRose MurrayBohermeen26:07
38thNoreen MallonArcane26:11
39thRose ReillyMoynalty26:13
40thClara FitzsimonsLucan26:17
41stMairead CasserlyDublin Wheelers26:27
42ndSusanne WindsorMoynalty26:51
43rdMary MaherDublin Wheelers27:00
44thCaroline CarolanMoynalty27:02
45thAnastasia MyachinaSt. Tiernans27:05
46thElizabeth AshtonBohermeen27:06
47thAnne Marie CookeDublin Wheelers27:26
48thZoe ShakespeareNavan27:54
49thHelen DuffyBohermeen29:15
50thAoife MooneyNavan31:02
51stBridget ReillyBohermeenDNF
Last edit: 3 years 1 month ago by Louise Keane.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Louise Keane

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 1 month ago - 3 years 1 month ago #29494 by Dave Mc
And the team classification:
1st...........Sundrive ..............1:03:56...........Neenan, Loscher, Ní Reachtagain
2ndScott Orwell1:07:56Fox, Freiband, Van den Ancker
3rdDublin Wheelers1:08:15Keenan, Samsel, Bryce
4thSt. Tiernans1:13:06Kelly, Shannon, Reids
5thArcane1:13:31Kennedy, Tilly, MacHale
6thLucan1:15:42 Byrne, Ghiado, Fitzsimons
7thBohermeen1:17:12 Reilly, Murray, Ashton
8thMoynalty1:20:06Reilly, Windsor, Carolan
9thNavan1:24:03Smith, Shakespeare, Mooney
Last edit: 3 years 1 month ago by Dave Mc.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Louise Keane

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.129 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum