The results are in from the annual hamper race, with Conor Murnane capping a very successful 2014 by bringing home a basket full of fine goods. Freddie Stevens won the Devil race, while Ann Horan topped the costume competition!

First up, thanks to Dick O'Brien for putting the day together, and to everyone who donated prizes - Dave Tansey and Joe Daly Cycles, Jen Sheridan, Tom Weymes, Ann Horan, Helen Horan and Jules CantwellUpdate: Apologies, we missed Matt Williams! Thanks Matt!

First race started as a reverse devil take the hindmost, with the first two across the line on each lap eliminated. Everyone actually listened to Damo Long this year, so we had for a while a very slow bike race. That let a lot of the younger members stay in the bunch for a good while. Once it was whittled down a bit, the format changed and it was a straight race. Freddie Stevens took a flyer with a few laps to go and never looked like being caught. Conor Murnane and Fionn Sheridan had a fierce sprint battle for second and third.

Freddie Stevens accepts his first place prize from Denis Gleeson

The main event saw the underage riders get a decent handicap of almost a lap and they stayed away for a while before being caught by a semi-limit group being powered along by Declan Quigley, Sandra Telford and Paul Tansey. The race came together about half way to go with Scratch catching the others. Some relentless pressure from the likes of Freddie and Jules Cantwell split the bunch up and and eventually it was a foursome who got away with even Pat O'Brien feeling the pace. Conor bested Freddie in the sprint this time, followed home by Jules, Aideen Keenan and Pat shortly after. Sandy won the bunch gallop from the second group over Declan.

Conor Murnane hauls home the hamper

The costume competition was hard fought, but the clear victor was Ann Horan, who sacrificed any hint of aerodynamics and chance at a win with her snowman oufit.

Snowwoman Horan

Our Rás na mBan team also finally received their Best Irish Team trophies from the September race. Following a mix-up in the prize giving, Val Considine organised new trophies shortly afterwards, but Sunday was the first occasion most of the team were in the one place at the same time. Missing from the ceremony was Lydia Gurley, but with Aideen, Ann, Claire McEntee and Ciara Kinch present, and Declan acting as Rás representative, it was a proper presentation.

L-R: Aideen Keenan, Claire McEntee, Ann Horan, Ciara Kinch, and Declan Quigley

Hope everyone enjoyed the day, and have a happy Christmas!


Hamper Race, Corkagh Park (21/12/2014)

Hamper Race
1 Conor Murnane
2 Freddie Stevens
3 Jules Cantwell
4 Aideen Keenan
5 Pat O'Brien
6 Sandra Telford
7 Declan Quigley
8 Helen Horan
=9 Donnacha McCormack
=9 Stephen O'Shea

Devil Take the Hindmost
1 Freddie Stevens
2 Conor Murnane
3 Fionn Sheridan
4 Fintan Keating
5 David Swift

Fancy Dress
1 Ann Horan
2 Aidan Hammond
3 David Swift
4 Pat O'Brien
5 Aideen Keenan
6 Helen Horan