After last week's prologue, the bunches got into some fast and furious crit racing this week, with separate nights for the Limit and Scratch groups. John Blennerhassett emerged triumphant from the winning break on Wednesday, while Valdis Andersons once again displayed his dominance on Thursday.

The Limit groups suffered with heavy showers on Wednesday night, but there was some really good racing for a horrible night. Despite the large turnout, the race was safe but hard. Special mention to the leading break of John Blennerhassett, Paul Forristal and Tommy Scanlan who were very impressive from early on, and threatened to lap the bunch in the latter stages. 

Scanlan was unfortunate to crash out, and Forristal lost out to Blennerhassett at the finish line, with the latter's victory earning him a promotion to Semi-scratch. Behind them Martyn Holmes rounded out the podium from what remained of the bunch, with Noel Boyle, Eoin Gorman and Bernard Sellars completing the placings.

As well as Blennerhassett's upgrade, Forristal and Scanlan will both move up to Semi-limit.

With four women competing, it was Breda Horan who edged out Sandra Telford to take the top points on offer.

The Wednesday warriors (photo thanks to Ian Anderson)

On Thursday night, Scratch obliterated Semi-scratch's handicap by the halfway mark. A promising move then went with a lot of the strongmen and Diarmuid Collins, but the combined efforts at the front of the bunch from the likes of Eoin Byrne and Jamie Busher pulled it back.

Brian McArdle jumped away with Valdis Andersons to form what was to be the winning break. After they were joined by a few bridgers, Andersons took a flyer with 300m to go and caught everyone off-guard. McArdle led out the sprint for 2nd, with Kilmessan's finest Brian McNally coming around him on the final stretch.

Stephen Barry overtook Eric Downey for 4th for the final finishers from the break. Busher earned the final points just pipping Byrne at the head of a much diminished bunch - a strong finish especially considering his earlier efforts.

The Thursday finish (video thanks to Ronan Foley)


Orwell League R2A: Corkagh Park Crit (6/4/2016)

1 John Blennerhassett (SL)
2 Paul Forristal (L)
3 Martyn Holmes (SL)
4 Noel Boyle (L)
5 Eoin Gorman (L)
6 Bernard Sellars (SL)


1 Breda Horan (L)
2 Sandra Telford (SL)

Orwell League R2B: Corkagh Park Crit (6/4/2016)

1 Valdis Andersons (S)
2 Brian McNally (S)
3 Brian McArdle (S)
4 Stephen Barry (S)
5 Eric Downey (S)
6 Jamie Busher (SS)