Blennerhassett and Dunne star in Brittas

Tom Blennerhassett continues to demonstrate an impressive understanding and aptitude for bike racing. Following on from his pre-season club race win in Culmullin and a strong time trial performance last week he confidently took the finishing sprint in the Semi Limit race ahead of a squadron of Orwells at the end of the two laps of the small lakes circuit in Blessington.

Amazingly, the first eight over the line and nine of the top ten were clad in Orwell colours with an reassuring mix of rookies and experienced riders scooping the points

Fast developing Junior rider Cian Donnelly scored his first top result in second with Limit race winner of two weeks ago, Patrick Conlon, taking third.

Conlon retains his early points lead with Blennerhassett three points behind.

Patrick O’Brien surprised few but himself with fourth with Ian O’Keefe a strong fifth. The final point was scooped by John Marron showing the value of his Paris Roubaix training.

Barry Dunne arrived at the head of the Limit group a few minutes later, taking his maiden success on a night when Orwell’s rookie contingent once again displayed a collective strength that bodes well for the future of the club.

Paul O’Brien took the runner up spot with Michael Hanley fourth and Conor O’Brien making it three Orwell O’Briens in the points on the night. The final points scorer was also in Orwell club kit but is, as yet, unidentified. Riders are reminded that the top seven riders must go back to the finish line.

Declan Byrne got his holidays off to a good start with third in the combined Scratch/Semi Scratch race which began proceedings. The former Gorey 3-Day winner followed Shane Baker and Enda Connolly across the line to be Orwell’s only points scorer.

Nonetheless, with 12 of the 18 placings across the three races scooped by Orwell riders, it wasn’t a bad night’s work for the club.

In addition, the first two Women riders in the Limit race were Orwell riders with Ciara Kinch edging out Caroline Martinez for top points. Kinch heads the women's league table from Orla Hendron.

Full league table here

Scratch/Semi Scratch

1, Shane Baker (Usher Irish Road Club);

2, Enda Connolly – (Lucan CRC);

3, Declan Byrne, (Dundrum Town Centre Orwell Wheelers);

4, Paul Dolan (Usher Irish Road Club);

5, Emmanuel Schockaert (Lucan CRC);

6 , Ian O’Hara (Lucan CRC).

Semi Limit

1, Tom Blennerhassett (Dundrum Town Centre Orwell Wheelers);

2, Cian Donnelly (Dundrum Town Centre Orwell Wheelers);

3, Patrick Conlon (Dundrum Town Centre Orwell Wheelers);

4, Patrick O’Brien (Dundrum Town Centre Orwell Wheelers);

5, Ian O’Keeffe (Dundrum Town Centre Orwell Wheelers);

6, John Marron (Dundrum Town Centre Orwell Wheelers).



1, Barry Dunne (Dundrum Town Centre Orwell Wheelers);

2, Paul O’Brien (Dundrum Town Centre Orwell Wheelers);

3, Mark McEvoy (Usher Irish Road Club);

4, Michael Hanley (Dundrum Town Centre Orwell Wheelers);

5, Conor O’Brien (Dundrum Town Centre Orwell Wheelers);

6, A.N. Other (Dundrum Town Centre Orwell Wheelers);

7, Eamonn Newton (Usher Irish Road Club).



powered by social2s