A blue sky, crisp evening in Corkagh Park with only a hint of an Easterly wind saw two great races tonight. Over 20 signed on to race the B Race and 18 for the A Race! There are participation points for all the racers tonight with the top 8 getting the bonus points. The league table will be updated in the next day or so.

The B Race was run over 20mins plus 3 laps. 2 under 14s were given a small head start before the chasing group was let loose. The race eventually split into a group of 8 at the front and then was whittled down to a leading group of 5 and a chasing 3 fighting it out for the minor places. Well done to Katie Reilly who is under 14 but who stayed with the lead group and was aggressive throughout the race putting in several attacks in trying to get away. Ciara Wilson was almost dropped from the lead group with only a few laps to go but fought back to contend the sprint at the end.

It was Nikki Taggart of Arcane who is returning to racing after a long break who showed a great turn of speed on the final bend to sprint away from the pack. Nikki gets an upgrade to the A Race next week.

The chasing group of 3 also contained a youth rider - Emma Smith of Navan who won the second sprint to finish in 6th.


1. Nikki Taggart, Arcane
2. Katie Reilly, Scott Orwell Wheelers
3. Hannah Tilly, Arcane
4. Keela McHale, Arcane
5. Ciara Wilson, Performance Science Ireland
6. Emma Smith, Navan Road Club
7. Kasha Gniado, Lucan CC
8. Aisling Ui Neill, Scott Orwell Wheelers

The A race was missing Round 1 winner Jennifer Bates tonight who is battling a cold but 18 other A riders signed on for what turned out to be a great 25 mins plus 3 laps. The A riders were given a third of a lap before the A+ were let loose. It took about 10 mins to reel in the A group. There was some aggressive riding from Aideen Keenan of Dublin Wheelers - who put in a couple of her traditional breaks throughout the race. Carolyn Hayes was also spotted as one of the more aggressive riders on the night.

Special mention to Aaron Fox who only started racing this time last year in the B group and who finished in 5th tonight in the A Race!

1. Autumn Collins, Team Torelli
2. Sofie Loscher, Sundrive
3. Jenny Neenan, Sundrive
4. Aideen Keenan, Dublin Wheelers
5. Aaron Fox, Scott Orwell Wheelers
6. Emma Porter, UCD
7. Beata Golczak, U/A
8. Claire Ni Reachtagain, Sundrive

Thanks to all our helpers who came along tonight and gave up their Tuesday evening! Lorna Reilly for providing the food, teas & coffee, Denis Gleeson our co-opted Marshal/timer and our photographers John Hammer, Brendan Culleton and Matthew Lysaght.



Brendan Culleton: Brendan's photo album

John Hammer's photos: B Race Photos

Matthew Lysaght's photos: Matthew's photo album

Orla & Louise